In 1716 Catholic Bishops established a college for priests at Scalan. They chose this remote spot at the foot of the Ladder Hills to avoid persecution by Hanoverian soldiers. It was this little seminary that ensured the survival of Catholicism in Scotland during the eighteenth century. About one hundred priests were trained at Scalan up until 1799, a fantastic achievement for those troubled times.
Iron was first mined here during the 18th century, close to the Well of Lecht,. The ore was taken by pack horse over the hills to Nethy Bridge for smelting. It was reopened in 1841 to produce manganese ore. A crushing plant driven by a water wheel was housed in the building.
Built during the construction of the military road through Avonside in 1754, this attractive bridge provided the main route across the crystal clear waters of the Avon for several centuries. It is now an attractive picnic site and excellent vantage point for viewing this lovely river.
One of a series of isolated stone chimneys built by early road menders. When the day's work was done portable walls were placed around the chimney to provide a warm resting place at night.
This stone lined underground chamber is thought to have been used as an illicit still, disguised as a corn drying kiln. It is also possible that it was originally built as an underground larder dating from the late Bronze Age.
This picturesque structure spans the Livet where it tumbles through a narrow, rocky gorge at Bridgend. It is thought to have been built at the same time as nearby Blairfindy Castle. Two arches of the bridge still survive, the third having been ripped away during the Muckle Spate of 1829.
In 1594 a force of 2,000 local men in support of the Catholic Earls of Errol and Huntly routed 10,000 Highlanders under the Protestant Earl of Argyll at the Battle of Glenlivet. A dramatic event, the battle represented the victory of artillery and horse over irregular infantry and has passed into local legend.
Tomintoul Museum gives visitors a unique opportunity to discover the lives and times of the inhabitants of Glenlivet and the Cairngorms in bygone days.
Explore the reconstructed farm house kitchen, and discover how people lived in Tomintoul over a century ago. Learn how peat was cut by hand to fuel the traditional open kitchen fire.
See how the village blacksmith worked in the 'smiddy', or blacksmith's workshop. The tools and fittings in the smiddy were donated by the last working blacksmith in Tomintoul - Raymond McIntosh.